The Good Christmas 2013, Take Two

It seems these days lots of people do the two Christmas thing, one with each side of the family, or perhaps one with friends and one with family.  So Boxing Day saw the Goods heading to Melbourne for a family afternoon tea with my side of the family.  It was nice being in the late afternoon, we could relax a bit in the morning and Miss Two and Miss Four could play with their new bits and pieces.

This time we were meeting my siblings, their partners and of course the new nephew, my parents and my grandfather, who at over ninety doesn’t make too many road trips (he was coming from Gippsland with my parents) so it’s always very special to see him.

The afternoon tea was made up of bits of everyone’s leftovers from our respective Christmas days or other things we had in the fridge – it was very no-fuss, but a great spread in the end.

And again we exchanged gifts – this time with a second hand theme.  This made gift buying at times a bit more tricky but meant we really had to think about it.  Some of the gifts included secondhand coffee machine for Mr Good, some gorgeous glasses, two different types one with a matching jug for me and two half wine barrel planters for my sister-in-law.  There were two gifts we couldn’t get on time – one was a used surfboard for my brother, and the other I think might still be a surprise so I won’t spoil it here.  My siblings and I also pooled our funds and got our parents a voucher to go on the Tramcar Restaurant.

Sadly I didn’t take many photos, but I thought I’d share this on of Mr Good, Miss Four and her adorable baby cousin.

IMG_0018

 

Now tell me, are you a two Christmas family or not?

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Good Christmas 2013, Take Two

  1. Beautiful photo! We make things easy on ourselves by having both sides of the family and some neighbours come to us for dinner. It makes for a lot of leaves in the dining table, but it is a good time every year.

    • Barbara Good says:

      I think we did that one year – the other year I hosted when it was Miss Four’s first Christmas. And actually we only have two Christmases when we don’t have Christmas day with my family, probably because we live all over the place and don’t catch up as often as with Mr Good’s family throughout the year. That may change now that we have moved away.

  2. Christine says:

    We’re lucky enough to live in a triangle shaped drive with my parents, Nick’s parents and our house. It’s about a 10-15 minute drive between each of those two locations, so although we do visit both places on Christmas day it’s actually wonderfully convenient!

    • Barbara Good says:

      How very convenient. I would love to live closer to my family as well as Mr Good’s. My sister and her new husband are looking at moving to Ballarat next year, I’m very much looking forward to that.

  3. A says:

    We usually do two but this year we did THREE! Being both country people (as you can sympathise) Christmas is all about the travel! Hub’s aunt and uncle were travelling to Adelaide this year to see family on the other-other side and their two kids were overseas, visiting Hub’s brother. That’s already half his family away, as it’s quite small. We did a Christmas lunch with that group the Saturday before and skyped with Sweden too. Christmas Day was with the inlaws and Hub’s other aunt. Then we drove back to Melbourne Xmas day for not much- a hot bike ride and dinner ordered in.
    Boxing Day is the big one I my side: my father’s family gather at the farm in Gippsland. We went from a Christmas Eve dinner of five, plus Bub, to a rambling Boxing Day lunch with five cousins, their partners, kids, parents and a few grand kids. Leftovers ahoy! We really should give each other the gift of petrol.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Oh wow, I don’t think I could cope with THREE! So much travel, are you just lolling of the couch recovering from it all?

      • rcra says:

        Pretty much. I forget how travel requires recovery from us, as well as from Bub, so I just feel as though I’m being lazy. I really should reframe it as “health time you need to allow me so I can drive the car and read to the baby and not mix up the two” 😉

  4. We are fortunate to be a 1 visit family but that’s only because my husband is English so Christmas night the kids are kept up late to skype with Omi (Martin’s mother is German) and sometimes Uncle Andy and Aunt Janet are there too.
    My extended family still have a get together with all my cousins and such although I expect as more of us have children, that might become much harder to co-ordinate.

Leave a Reply

