The Wrap 2013

For the last two years I’ve set myself some goals, things that I want to make time for, things I enjoy but often get put to the bottom of the pile of life and changes, big and small, that I’d like to make to the way I live.  I reviewed them in July and now it’s time to see just how well I’ve done.  So here’s the wrap for 2013….

1. Reading – The goal was 15 books.  I aced this one, not only did I reach my goal, I nearly doubled it (but not quite), reading 27 (and a bit) books.  There were lots of highlights and a few lowlights.  My top five were Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth, Burial Rites by Hannah Kent, The Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman, The Messenger by Markus Zusak and Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner.  The ones I least enjoyed were The Darling Buds of May and A Breath of French Air by H. E. Bates and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galazy by Douglas Adams.  There were a few others that I had issues with like Coudstreet by Tim Winton, the Bronze Horseman by Paulina Simmons and Harvesting the Heart by Jodi Picoult, but I still enjoyed at least part of the these books.

2. Cooking with my ktichen gadgets – pasta maker, ice cream maker and slow cooker.  I rocked the slow cooker this year, both before and after the move, have found some firm favourites, have managed to adapt other recipes to suit the slow cooker and figured out a few do’s and don’t’s.  The ice cream maker I haven’t used as much as planned, but have made some great vanilla and chocolate ice cream and some tangy frozen yogurt.  I need to get this back out and going now that we have more reason to eat frozen treats.  The pasta machine I did well on up until we moved, making fettuccine and spaghetti fairly regularly, but I haven’t used it in six months.  Must rectify this.  In all this was an average effort with room for improvement.

3. Gardening – Reinvigorate my pots and hanging baskets and conquer the capsicum growing curse.  Well…. this goal doesn’t seem all that relevant anymore.  I no longer have anywhere to hang hanging baskets.  Most of my pots have been transplanted into the garden with the exception of a few herbs and the blueberry plant.  And I have plans for that to go out the front later this year with a couple of other blueberries.  I also think a garden bed designated to herbs will be the next project with the exception of the mint which I’ll keep in the pot.  I do still have my bay tree and lemon/lime tree in pots which will remain so for now at least.  Finally I bought myself a half wine barrel for Christmas which I will put a dwarf orange tree in I think.  So all of this was basically saying this goal was defunct for that past six month and that’s not a bad thing!  The capsicum thing is still up in the air, we’ll see how this lot fair before making a call on it.

4. Crafting – Firstly my goal was to finish one and get a good way through a second crocheted blanket.  I’ve done this, though the second is still only about half finished (as I decided half way through to make it substantially bigger than I first thought I would).  I also wanted to learn to zigzag stitch, this has not happened.  Next knitting something other than squares or scarves.  I did not even pick up my needles.  Big fail on that one.  Sewing was a bit hit and miss.  I whipped up a pair of track pants for Miss Four (being very skinny finding ones that fit the waist but also have the length is next to impossible).  Of course she out grew them very quickly and I’ve now lost the pattern in the move, so annoying.  I also made a bunting for my nephew, not perfect (I’m having tension issues, any tips?) but not too bad.  And I finished a very simple quilt for Miss Two.  Not as much as I wanted, but hopefully with my new sewing table I’ll be more productive this year.

5. Community – My goal was to donate blood regularly and to do a class or two.  I did well on the blood donations until I had to stop for health reasons.  I should be able to start that again this month.  I did join a pilates class in Melbourne and have found another here in Ballarat, but this wasn’t exactly what I meant. I have just enrolled to start my Masters in Education this year, so that counts right?  I have also been doing a bit of writing for a local community newsletter.

6. Professional – I felt so much better about my teaching in the first half of this year, but it came at quite some cost, namely time with my family.  It’s a tough job to do in any kind of dedicated way and juggle young kids, hence I stopped altogether from July.  That decision was a great one for all of us, but I do miss it.

7. The big one was the move and as you all know that certainly happened.  It actually happened faster than we anticipated and so far has been the best decision we’ve made in a long while.  The quieter, slower pace is great, there is less stress and more enjoyment in our lives and Ballarat is a great place to live.

So that’s my year in review, a pass definitely and a pretty good one at that.  I have yet to decided if I’m going to do goals this year.  In some ways I don’t want to set my expectations at a level I can’t meet with Miss Four starting kinder four days a week and me studying again.  But I also want to make sure that somewhere in there I have time for the things I really love doing.  I’ll keep you posted.

You can catch my updates on Facebook also.

PS Sorry for no images, computer issues and lack of time being the excuse I’m invoking on that one.  I’ll share some on the facebook page though.

This entry was posted in Books, cooking, craft, Family, Gardening, Goals, Kids, Lifestyle, Slow Living, Tree Change and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Wrap 2013

  1. Christine says:

    Snap! I’ve applied to do a Masters of Teaching (Early Education), too!
    Unfortunately I’m halfway through a PhD, so I suspect my application is doomed…
    Best of luck with all your plans!

    • Barbara Good says:

      Wow what’s you PhD in? And why would that doom your application?

      • Christine says:

        My PhD is in children’s literature (I’m looking at the way that power relationships are depicted in the Harry Potter series).
        I think it’s doomed because the application process is all automated, I can’t let them know that I’ll take time off from my PhD to do the Masters degree, so they’ll look at my current university workload and decide I’m already too busy.

      • Barbara Good says:

        Wow that sounds fascinating. And don’t you hate those automated things that don’t let you include all the relevant information.

Leave a Reply

