Harvest Monday – 10 February, 2014

One word, relief!  After another week of temperatures too high to contemplate. a night that didn’t drop below 30 degrees Celsius and a day where bush fires ranged across parts of the state fueled by strong winds, today was pleasantly cool.  I think I heard the garden sigh with pleasure as the soft breeze fluttered the leaves and the ground had a chance to recover some moisture with a good watering.

Despite this I have been picking daily, more and more each time.

Cherry tomatoes – a small bowl every day or two (they are still the tiny wild sweetie, so a small bowl of them is quite a few tomatoes).

IMG_0077

The odd strawberry – these plants are struggling with the hear and some of the fruit has dried on the plants before I got out to pick.

Zucchini – big ones, small ones, gnarly ones,  lots!

Cucumber – the VERY first one, with lots more coming on YAY.

IMG_0078

Lettuce – these plants are still going okay, but are looking a little worse for wear after a string of hot days.

Silverbeet – a little sun damaged, but not too bad.

I also managed to pick up a BUCKET full of cherry tomatoes and some chillies from my brother and brother-in-law’s gardens.

For more head over to Daphne’s.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Monday Harvest and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Harvest Monday – 10 February, 2014

  1. Liz says:

    The change was something of a relief wasn’t it? Congratulations on your first cucumber. I think they have been my best producing crop this year – as long as they are moist and a bit shaded they seem to cope well with the heat don’t they?

  2. narf77 says:

    Our tomatoes (in Tassie in general) are not ripening like they should do because of a late start to our summer. I didn’t even KNOW I had planted cucumbers! I think some seed must have germinated from a leftover soggy one that I left behind in the garden but there is a most active cucumber doing the rounds of all of the garden beds at the moment. I am not complaining, it appears to be producing cumbers for the queen! Never SEEN so many! The silverbeet is just starting to recover from 2 possum attacks (the first through a weal spot in the defences and the second through my husband leaving the gate open…sigh…) so I haven’t had the heart to pick much yet. I didn’t even bother to plant chillis this year as there wasn’t going to be enough time for them to ripen up. Yours is an excellent and most elegant sufficiency ma’am 🙂

    • Barbara Good says:

      Love the mystery cucumber, at least it’s pulling its weight in the garden. Pity about the tomatoes, mine are going okay, but some of the bigger varieties have been very slow to ripen. Not going to get anything off my capsicums (and the chillies are being grown by my brother and brother-in-law) and the eggplants are still up in the air.

Leave a Reply

