Harvest Monday – 24 February, 2014

It has been a very productive week in the Good’s garden this week, so much so I can’t keep up with it all.  And I think this will be continued for a couple more weeks before the summer crops really wind down.

This week I picked:

Somewhere in the vicinity of ten (possible lots more I’ve lost count and given many away) cucumbers.  They’re Lebanese so quite short, but also quite fat.  I’m planning some bread and butter pickles later this week if I can find some time.

6 large (1 VERY large) zucchinis, another I can’t keep up with.  I think I’ll make some zucchini, pea and mint soup for the freezer and another zucchini slice.  Plus perhaps I’ll get around to trying the chocolate zucchini cake, if I can find the recipe.

Loads of cherry tomatoes – lemon drop, wile sweeties and a mystery variety.  We enjoyed a mixed tomato, cucumber and feta salad with basil.

IMG_0100

A couple of roma tomatoes.

Two small bowls of strawberries – which is more than I’ve ever picked in one week before.

Lots of basil, a little rosemary, parsley and lots of mint (for home made mint sauce which went with a slow roasted lamb shoulder we had on Friday night.

1969134_695548147162288_601813098_n  1970504_694119203971849_321171186_n

I’m looking forward to picking some corn soon, perhaps next week.  I also think the potatoes will be ready to dig up soon and the pumpkins are just waiting with skins hardening all the time (I hope). Hopefully that means I’ll have even more variety in the next couple of harvests.

For more harvest news head over to Daphne’s.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Monday Harvest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Harvest Monday – 24 February, 2014

  1. narf77 says:

    SOOOO jealous of your harvest! The rats are scoffing my pumpkins and I am just about to pull out my liquid zucchinis to make way for some (hopefully) hardier winter veggies. Bring on winter! Summer has been an absolutel bummer!

  2. Leave those pumpkins as long as you can. I’ll save the seeds from my buttercups if you’d like some too. Well jealous of the rest of your harvest too. We get a handful of strawberries every day and a goodly double handful of cherry tomatoes every week too. My corn is just setting although I have 1 generously sized cob. I harvested about 1/4 my spuds on the weekend with a crop of mostly small to middling size but with a handful of giant ones in there for good measure. Time to get my winter crops sown so I have garden beds that aren’t fallow for too long.

    • Barbara Good says:

      I’d love some seeds, perhaps we can do a trade though I can’t promise my seed saving ability will be up to scratch.

      • Nor can I promise about mine. But if we both sign a disclaimer, put down a deposit refundable in case of failure and give a DNA sample just in case we should be fine. 😉 Would you like some purple sprouting broccoli seeds for your winter crops? If your girls are like my little miss then they love purple and this broccoli is PURPLE! 😀 Again, disclaimer, deposit and DNA sample required in case they don’t all sprout. 😉

  3. Barbie says:

    zucchinis…yum. I can’t wait!

  4. daphnegould says:

    Lovely harvests. I just can’t wait for spring to get here so I can have fresh grown vegetables again. I really miss them.

Leave a Reply

