Succession Planting Tuesday – Time for the winter veg

Finally, finally, finally I found the time to shove some seeds in the seed trays and get a start on the winter crop.  Actually it was Miss Four’s idea, I think my indoctrination into the world of home vegetable growing might be paying off.

Seeds trays in the greenhouse.

Seeds trays in the greenhouse.

So over the last week we have planted the following seeds:

Red Cabbage

Chinese Cabbage

Green sprouting broccoli

Snowball Cauliflower

Spring onions

Lettuce (mixed)

Red Russian Kale

and Rocket

The red cabbage, sprouting broccoli, Chinese cabbage and kale have all sprouting.  I’m hoping the rest won’t be too far away, though I was a little heavy handed with the watering on the spring onions and lettuce so I’m worried I washed the seeds to the bottom of the tray.  Time will tell I suspect.

I have lost more I want to plant including turnips, fennel, beetroot, purple sprouting broccoli, heading broccoli, mini cauliflower, mini cabbage, leeks and onions.  But my uni course started yesterday and the reading pretty intense so I can’t promise anything.  I also need more seed raising mix – don’t you hate when something simple like running out of supplies stops you doing something.

Anyway, tell me what you’ve been planting this week/month.  And check out 5002m in Sydney for her selection.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Succession Planting Tuesday – Time for the winter veg

  1. Pingback: Succession Planting Tuesday – 4 March 2014500m2 in Sydney | 500m2 in Sydney

  2. Well done for planting so much. Although I’m not really regular with my Tuesday posts, the discipline in planting regularly is really paying off for me.
    Totally with you on the uni front – Have you just started or were you studying last year too?

    • Barbara Good says:

      I’m impressed that you regularly find time to plant seeds, I just can’t seem to get to that point, I’m very sporadic and have very longs gaps in harvests as a result. Oh well, one day (I do say that a lot).

  3. narf77 says:

    With you on the studies…there goes the nice quiet slow days! 😉 Consider me prodded…winter planting ASAP!

  4. If you’re starting winter planting now, you might want to try snowpeas. They’re supremely easy to start from seed. Mine are inclined to go mouldy though, sadly. They’re very susceptible to disease in the wet.

  5. I am impressed that you got your seeds in early! We intended to, but it didn’t happen. Sowed some green and white cauliflowers, green sprouting and romenesco broccoli, and brussels sprouts yesterday. We have a bed ready to sow fennel and parsnip directly into the soil, but we are waiting till the weather cools down a little. 35 here in Adelaide today!

  6. vivien says:

    does anybody know how i can get in touch with 500m2 ?!

Leave a Reply

