Harvest Monday – 31 March, 2014

I’ve been a bit neglectful of my garden this week and my new seedlings have really suffered… looks like my winter planting is going to be a bit sparse.  But I have managed to pick a few things including…..

Six French Squash Pumpkins

IMG_0194

More and more cherry tomatoes, plus a few bigger ones

IMG_0196 IMG_0199 IMG_0200

A couple of cucumbers (I thought these were the last on the plant but noticed two more this morning)

IMG_0198

1 zucchini – still a few more coming on

IMG_0195

Parsley, mint

I really need to start thinking about getting the garden ready for the next season, but I’m not sure when that is going to happen.  My first uni assignment is but on Monday next week so perhaps after that.  I hope your garden is still going strong or is coming into a productive period.  To check out others head over to Daphne’s.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Harvest Monday – 31 March, 2014

  1. daphnegould says:

    I love that row of pumpkins. Squash is such a favorite of mine.

  2. Stoney Acres says:

    Great looking harvest. I’m always jealous of folks in other climates. Your harvesting tomatoes and I’m still dealing with snow!!

  3. Michelle says:

    Summer veggies look so good! I’ve got great spring veggies coming out of my garden, but I’m so envious of those summer ones.

  4. narf77 says:

    I am actually getting spuds this year! I don’t really care that everything ate the rest of my garden…real potatoes are mine! 🙂

  5. Those pumpkins look glorious! It’s such fun to read about gardens, all around the globe.

  6. We’re in the crossover in our garden. Still getting cherry tomatoes and picked my first ripe larger tomato this morning. I’ve got my pumpkins pared down to minimum vines for maximum growth now and pulled out everything unproductive. The front garden spuds are al harvested and I have garlic and onions planted where the spuds were. Much more to go in terms of the alliums though.
    I planted out some seedlings the other day but they were leggy to begin with and I don’t think they will do very well. I still have seeds though so I can easily plant more. My cabbage seedlings from a few weeks ago are starting to form itty bitty heads – about 2cm across at the moment but I’m stoked. I’ve spuds to harvest, beetroots coming along, carrots to plant, more brassicas to plant and my summer ones are finally bolting to seed so I hope they hurry up and set seed so I can save them for next year. Either that or they will hang on and produce in winter for me. Jury’s out there at the moment.
    I love Autumnal gardening. Crisp mornings, warm days and a lot less need to water (in theory at least). We had a glorious fog this afternoon that I’ve been informed means a long cold winter. Lots of time for the garlic and onions to do well then. 🙂

  7. Sue says:

    Very nice Pumpkins, well done, I am waiting for my Pumpkin (only one) to die off a bit more before picking, apparently it increases the flavour.

    • Barbara Good says:

      My vine died off ages ago, I left the pumpkins in the garden for weeks after that because I thought you had to wait til the first frost or something. Anyway, I gave up waiting (still no frost so far) and picked them anyway. I hope they taste better than the last ones I grew.

Leave a Reply

