A Sunday Adventure

I find it so easy to fall into ruts, food ruts, parenting ruts, life-in-general ruts, give me a rut and I’ll happily fall into it.  I’ve been in just about all of them lately, but slowly, slowly I’m finding a bit more spark.  Things have started happening in the kitchen again, I’m back on track (almost) with my uni stuff after some busy weeks and my house is looking remarkably clean.  Then I had reason to think about what I’d been doing (or rather not doing) with the kids.  We’d fallen into a total rut, too much TV, to many movies, to much iPad time, everyone getting stroppy and not a lot of connecting happening.  My theory, when it comes to ruts, is that you need them to really appreciate the non-rut times and to move to a better way of living.

So to shift ourselves well and truly out of this rut I declared it an indefinite period of no-TV, no-movies (except Friday movie night) and no iPad except if we’re using one of the great educational apps together.  I explained the rules, no issues.  The girls found their animals and set up a game of Lion King, complete with Duplo Pride Rock.  They sorted the animals in African and non-African and spent the next half an hour role playing with the animals they had selected.  Then we had the first request for the TV.  I got the craft box out and they were happy.  We read a pile of neglected library books – finding a couple of gems in there – and played a game of Hairy MacLary memory.  That saw us through to lunch and screentime had only come up once.

After lunch we put raincoats on, rounded up scooters, put the dog on the lead and went for an Adventure to see if we could find Tinkerbell’s House.  To keep us going we packed apples, a water bottle and the camera to record our travels.  We were gone for two hours (thankfully I decided to take the pram too, knowing that Miss just turned 3 would last about ten minutes on her new scooter, yep I was right!)  We found some funny trees, some super cool, but super poisonous toadstools, watched a kids soccer game and got the dog to pull Miss 5 home on her scooter.  It was lots of fun!

IMG_0140 IMG_0144 IMG_0146 IMG_0148 IMG_0157 IMG_0160 IMG_0166 IMG_0174 IMG_0177 IMG_0184 IMG_0185 IMG_0188

Let’s see how the next week of screen-free pans out.

This entry was posted in Kids, Lifestyle, Parenting, Slow Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Sunday Adventure

  1. Jess Mc says:

    Gorgeous pics Jo! The afternoon would have felt great!

  2. Nice photos! It looks like you had a great day.

  3. fergie51 says:

    Nothing like a bit of fresh air to re-jig the thought process! Those trees look amazing.

  4. Fairy home mushrooms! 😀 I found some growing in the park in Ballan too. 🙂 Great walk and outing had and well done reducing screen time. We need to reduce it here too as with 2 new tablets in the house (long story) we had 5 computers/tablets going the other day and although silence reigned, communication did not. Not making for a happy family.
    Love to catch up for another play date if you are keen.

  5. Sue says:

    Lovely times, sounds like your having a ball with less screen time, trust me it seems to be a global problem. I used to tell my kids in that part of the park with all those pines there are fairies there and the 8 year old still glaces sort of unbelieving but hoping for a wee glimpse…

  6. Pingback: A Screen Free Week….. almost | The New Good Life

Leave a Reply

