Garden Share Collective – June

Well, I need to apologise for missing last month – I’ve had a busy, sad and kind of stressful time of late and blogging just hasn’t been happening.  However, I have managed to make it into the garden a few times this month and wanted to share what’s happening in my little patch.  Please excuse the lack of photos, I will get to those on Monday and add them in, but there’s nothing particularly spectacular to photograph anyway.

TheGardenShareCollective300pix

Growing:

I haven’t planted as much as I had planned for my winter/spring garden and made the decision a couple of weeks ago that I would be satisfied with what I had managed to get in and not worry about what I hadn’t planted.  This should mean that I’ll have space in the garden to plant thing before my winter veggies have completely finished.  The bare areas have been mulched thickly to keep the weeds down and get it ready for later in the year.  What has been planted includes lots of garlic, snow peas, broad beans, cabbages (red, green and chinese) broccoli, silverbeet, red Russian kale, spring onions and a paddock of rocket.  I also have parsley and mint still going strong.

Planting:

I have no firm plans to plant anything, but if I find time and motivation I might see what I can put in, maybe some beetroot and turnips?

Harvesting:

Only silverbeet, rocket, parsley and mint.

To do:

There quite a bit of cleaning up to do in a couple of the beds.  The last of the cosmos needs pulling and I need to thin out the thousands of new cosmos plants coming through.  I also need to pull out quite a lot of the self-seeded rocket to make sure the plants I have put in have enough room to grow.  The weeds in parts of the garden are a bit out of control too, I shall endeavour to deal with these.

I must admit I do enjoy the slower pace of gardening during the colder months.  The watering is mostly taken care of thanks to regular rain and the weeds grow more slowly so I can get on top of them.

Aside from the veggies I’ve cleaned up part of the front garden and planted some bulbs for some spring colour.  Some of those have come from my Grandmother’s garden and I really hope they will establish themselves in my garden.  This is particularly important to me now.  My grandfather, and last remaining grandparent, passed away in May and their house will soon be someone else’s home.  It’s hard to think of anyone else living there, it holds such special memories for me.

That’s it from me this month, but do go and check out all the garden sharers a Strayed from the Table.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Garden Share Collective – June

  1. that was rather poignant to read about your grandfather passing away and you planting your Grandmothers plants. I have been doing a similar thing in memory of my Mom who passed away in May. Gardening is awesome for healing broken hearts. Just let it take its time.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Thanks, yes time a some flowers will go a long way to filling the hole. I still find it hard to think my grandmother is there to have a chat with and it’s been four years. My grandfather’s passing was expected and a blessing in many ways, but still leaves an awful hole in my world.

  2. Sue says:

    Isn’t it just wonderful how bulbs can live on in another garden from a different generation? I have no Cosmos if it seeds well I think I should go get some seeds this weekend!

    • Barbara Good says:

      I literally have cosmos coming up everywhere. I’ve been pulling it out to make room for the veggies, but I’m sure there will be plenty more to fill the gaps.

  3. Sorry to hear of the passing of your grandfather. I too havebeen planting bulbs for spring colour, bee fodder and to remember my grandmother although sadly they are not pups from her bulbs but they are the same flowers (Ixias). Gardening is a balm for the soul and I hope it eases yours at least a little.

    • Barbara Good says:

      Ixias are on my list to add to the front garden next year. This time I planted freesias, crocus, iris, tulips, star flowers and grape hyacinth.

      • I planted ixias, grape hyacinth, ornamental garlics (including rather rare blue ones I think), daffy’s, jonquils and freesias too I think. You can keep the tulips though. Never been a fan year although they are lovely and bright.
        I missed out on saffron crocuses this year but intend to plant some out and hope they multiply fast! How wonderful it would be to have ones own supply of saffron! 🙂

  4. I hope you can get some garden therapy soon with your hands in the soil. Look forward to having you back next month in full swing.

  5. Melissa Loh says:

    Winter can be a bit of a downer in the garden, but looking forward to seeing you get back into the swing of it when things settle down.

  6. merrynsmenu says:

    Sorry to hear of your grandfather’s passing but how lovely you are planting your grandmother’s bulbs to continue the tradition. Winter is a relief regarding weed plucking, and lawn mowing too. Beetroot, what a great idea, they are so lovely roasted 😀 I grew turnips once but planted them too close together. How do you cook them?

Leave a Reply

