Respect for my winter garden

Hi there, I’ve been a bit slack on the posting lately so thought a greeting was a good place to start today.  Hope you’re all enjoying this time of year, isn’t spring great!  My weekly schedule is starting to open up quite considerably and I’m very excited about that.  My studies for the year are coming to an end, activities with the kids are winding down and summer holidays are just around the corner.  For me this represents more time in the garden, lots of reading time, relaxed morning schedules, fun and spontaneity with the girls, washing getting dry in a day and lots of easy dinners of BBQ and salads.  Of course by the end of the break we’re all ready to fill our days with more structure and separateness, but for now it seems like a little piece of paradise just about here.

But before I head into those gloriously free summer days I thought it high time I payed tribute to my warrior-like winter garden.  You see at some point in autumn, when the bulk of the summer crops had been torn unceremoniously from the soil and tossed onto my pathetic excuse of a compost heap,  I had run out of all energy and inspiration for the patch.  It was getting cold and I was getting busy.  I threw some seeds at the ground haphazardly and I allowed some plants to self seed at will.  There was very little planning (actually there was no planning whatsoever).  Then for months I left them to it.  I did not water (thankfully rain was consistent), I did not train or prune or tidy.  I let weeds run riot.  And yet, and yet! that winter garden has come into it’s own this spring.

We’ve had a steady supply of snow peas (more than I have ever managed to grow before), broccoli, rocket, silverbeet and parlsey.  Potatoes that were missed when I dug them up last year grew in a conveniently bare area of the garden, kale miraculously survived being completely over-run by wild, rampaging rocket and peas grew is masses from the pea straw I put down where I couldn’t be bothered planting anything.  And broadbeans, well they have produced so prolifically I can barely contain them.  This ever so neglected garden has provided all of this and much more for my family, and I am ever so grateful. (Somehow the kale, rocket and silverbeet always misses out on being photographed, why is that?)

997078_829541890429579_5598132488558918710_n 10553458_829312760452492_4685771062040836172_n 10612991_812467022137066_8081932916697263356_n GetAttachment (9)

We’ve even starting picking and eating strawberries!!

So before I start on how wonderful summer veggies are or complaining about the watering, weeding, and general maintenance the summer garden requires, I wanted to say a quiet thank you to the garden for just doing it’s thing without demands, without attention, all on its own.  It’s a wonderful thing.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Respect for my winter garden

  1. kmfinigan says:

    I really believe that winter is one of the most productive times in the garden. Despite the allure of gardening in Summer, most of my favourite vegetables grow in the harsh winters in the Highlands here, and I always have so much produce to share with friends and family. A fantastic ode to your winter garden, check out what was growing in mine this year! http://bit.ly/11a5P3c

  2. I agree. Winter is one of my favourite and most prolific times in the garden. I have garlic everywhere, some of which I’ve harvested, some is not yet ready. Kale, parsley, chard, spinach, potato onions, chives, broad beans, peas straw peas and more. No watering, no fearing frosts, no worries about them being toasted by an extreme weather event. As much as I love spring and summer gardening, winter gardens are by far the easiest and far more prolific for energy invested. 🙂

  3. Jo says:

    Our winter garden chugged along quite well too. Now back to playing mummy in the garden so nothing burns to death, or dies of thirst.

Leave a Reply

