Pinterest in the Kitchen – Chicken

I am somewhat addicted to pinterest, especially when it comes to collecting recipes.  It’s my little Saturday evening ritual, going through my weekly board suggestions or just randomly searching, adding anything the looks interesting to my ever increasing number of boards.  (I know, that is just how exciting my life is!)  Sometimes, that’s all I do, but lately I’ve been in the mood to try some new recipes and I have been turning to my boards.  I should add this is only a once a week thing (and not every week at that), the rest of the time we stick to firm family favourites and quick dinners.  It’s nice to break it up with something new, add my own adjustments and see how it all works out.  I’ve had some winners with the whole family, I’ve had a couple that I’ve enjoyed more than the rest and I’ve had some that need tweaking, but so far I’m yet to have any complete failures.

Today I thought I’d share a few chicken recipes that have been inspired by Pinterest.

The first one is Slow Cooker Lemon and Garlic Chicken, think pot roast style.  I found the recipe here and I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I used thyme instead of rosemary.  Because you cook the whole chicken in the slow cooker the skin doesn’t go brown and crispy like in the oven, so the skin is removed before eating.  You could finish it in the oven to brown if you wanted to.

Not a great photo, sorry!

Not a great photo, sorry!

It’s not an all day in the slow cooker kind of recipe.  My understanding of cooking whole chicken in the slow cooker is that they need the higher temperature setting (at least for first part of the cooking process) to make sure any bacteria etc have been killed.  This recipe would be good if you were home on the weekend but didn’t want to slave in the kitchen (it’s super easy and quick to prepare) or if you were out just for the afternoon.

My only problem was with using the liquid as a sauce at the end, my liquid was very, VERY lemony.  I should have diluted it with some chicken stock or water first I think, or just left it off.  The meat was so moist it didn’t really need a sauce.  The flesh on it’s own had a lovely lemony/garlicky flavour.  I made the left overs into a sandwich mix by finely dicing the chicken, some celery, spring onions and pistachios (I used the food processor which did it in seconds) then mixing with whole egg mayonnaise and ricotta (or sour cream).  This was a delicious way to use up left overs and made about 8 sandwiches.

The second recipe was a complete and utter winner with my whole family.  It has the magic combination of pasta and mushrooms (for Miss Three), meat (for Miss Five and Mr Good) and adult-ish flavours (for me) but that aren’t too much for the younger members of the tribe.  It’s Dijon Chicken Linguini with mushrooms and toasted almonds.  I think we were all somewhat unprepared for just how good this dish was going to be, I didn’t even remember to snap a picture (so the one below is from the website the recipe came from).  I found it here and I am so sure I’m going to be making this one again I have copied the recipe into my note book.

26UYi71398196386

The final recipe I tested out on Mum and Dad when they came for a visit last weekend.  It was an Italian baked chicken with potatoes and cherry tomatoes.  Another easy to prepare meal with great flavours – the dressing of red wine vinegar, garlic, rosemary, thyme and olive oil is delicious.  And finishing the dish off with some mozzarella was perfect.  Served with some simple steamed greens this was a lovely dinner.  My only issue was with the amount of liquid in the bottom of the baking dish.  I’m thinking you could reduce the liquid in the dressing, or just do as we did and drain it off as you serve it, no big deal.  Mum, in particular, thought this was a great dish and I will certainly adding it to my list.  Again I forgot to photograph it so here’s the shot from the website.

Italian-Baked-Chicken-3

This entry was posted in cooking, Pinterest Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pinterest in the Kitchen – Chicken

  1. fergie51 says:

    All sounds yummy! I love that black pan, really sets off the colours of the dish beautifully. Is it clay or steel?

Leave a Reply

