Recipe – Country Garlic Chicken

Wow, how long has it been since I last posted a recipe or anything really food related?  There are reasons for this – firstly I went AWOL for over a year, secondly my kitchen has been a most uninspired place for such a long time.  As long-time readers will know (maybe?) cooking meals that my two frustrating children will eat has been a definitely theme for years.  Well, that hasn’t changed.  They still refuse seemingly innocuous, unoffensive dinners made specifically because I think they will like them.  They occasionally surprise me…. very occasionally.  I still have one that would willingly eat a devoted carnivore diet and another that has decided vegetarianism is the way to go.  What am I supposed to do with that?

On a recent trip to the library I was browsing the cookbook sections – having already banned myself from borrowing more novels – and picked up a slow cooker book I hadn’t seen before.  It’s called Slow by Allyson Gofton.  I had a good look through the book when I got home and to be honest I wasn’t that thrilled by it.  There were only a couple of recipes that I thought I’d try before returning it.  The first was a Lancashire lamb hotpot.  It was tasty but I’ve got another lamb chop casserole I do in the slow cooker that I prefer.  Then tonight I tried the Country Garlic Chicken recipe.  It smelt delicious from the get go and the taste did not disappoint.  But most impressive is that everyone ate it, devoured it, annihilated it.  Plates were clean before I had time to notice that I wasn’t nagging certain small people to sit properly and eat over their plates.  This is definitely one to add to the list, yay!  It’s been so long since my last kitchen success story.  And, of course, I had to share it (see blow).  Sadly, not realising how good this was going to be there are no photos, but please believe me it looked terrific and tasted even better.

Country Garlic Chicken

8-10 chicken thighs or drumsticks (skin removed if you prefer)
3 tablespoons of flour
1 tablespoon of paprika (I used smoked which worked a treat)
1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
12 gloves of garlic (mine were from the garden and were quite big so I used 8)
2 carrots, peeled and sliced thickly
2 parsnips, peeled and sliced thickly
1 tablespoon rosemary leaves, stems removed
1-1 1/2 cups chicken stock or water

Place the chicken in a bag with the flour, paprika and pepper and toss to coat.

Heat butter in a heave based pan and brown the chicken in batches (this is optional but highly recommended.

Chop the garlic and place in the bottom of the slow cooker.

Top with the sliced carrot and parsnips.  Place the chicken on top pf the vegetables and then sprinkle over the rosemary leaves.  Season with salt and pepper.

Add the stock, cover with the lid and cook on low for 6-7 hours or on high for 4-5 hours.

Serve with greens and mashed potato (or whatever you like).

This was super easy and completely satisfying.  And better yet it was nice to get back into the kitchen and have a win.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Barbara.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe – Country Garlic Chicken

  1. Andrea says:

    Congratulations !!! So hard to keep everyone happy at meal times .

    • Barbara Good says:

      You’re so right. With a determined vegetarian (sausages not withstanding) and an even more determined carnivore it’s next to impossible to please them both.

Leave a Reply

