A New Good Life….

I’ve had a kind of tricky six months or so, a bit of a crisis on identity you might say.  I’ve floundered a bit, I’ve changed my mind about what to do next roughly 300 times and I’ve really missed having an idea of what’s coming day to day, the routine of work.

In that time I’ve started taking on emergency teaching work.  This, I have found, to be a soulless occupation and one I truly have not enjoyed.  Walking into a class that isn’t mine, with students that I don’t know and in a school where the staff are busy and generally haven’t got time or head space to welcome in a new CRT (and I was guilty of the same when I was teaching so I get it).  That’s not to say I haven’t met some absolutely lovely students and that when I’m clearly lost there will be another teacher that notices and points me in the right direction, but it’s just not for me.  I do it simply and only for the money and that’s not a way I want to live.

However, I think I may have finally found my new calling and I am really excited about it.  I have decided to dedicate the next six months to becoming a librarian.  It makes so much sense.  I LOVE books and reading and studying (all of which happens in libraries) and I can still stretch my educator muscles every now and again.  I’ve enrolled FULL TIME in an Information Management program at RMIT which started this week.  Clearly it’s very early days, but when I even found the cataloguing class interesting (and dare I say it, exciting) I though I may be onto something here.

I actually remembered, once I settled on this new direction, that I dressed as a librarian for a walk-a-thon we did at primary school.  I think the theme was something like what you want to be when you grow up…. if only that had come back to me a bit sooner.  Mind you I also wanted to be a zoologist, so maybe that could be next?

In the meantime life is going to be busy, but I am hoping to still be able to write a blog post every week or so, reviewing books, sharing thoughts, swapping recipes, and increasing my supply of cardigans (compulsory librarian attire I believe).

Til the next one (a book review I think)

Barbara

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Good Life….

  1. Glenn Finlay says:

    Good on you Barbara!
    I’ve missed your blogs and discussions on recipes and gardening. Hope you still have a wee bit of spare time for the vege patch! I’ve just got hold of some composted cow manure to work into some beds ready for tatties and tomatoes when it warms up. We have had some wicked frosts here so I’ll be a bit gun shy!! Broad beans and garlic looking very good.
    Good luck with the studies, I reckon you’ll love it!!
    Regards,
    Glenn (from Sale)

    • Barbara Good says:

      Hi Glenn, so lovely to hear from you again. My vege patch is pretty dormant at the moment. I find it just too cold in a Ballarat winter to do much out there. I have got rhubarb in which I thrilled about and of course once it warms up I’ll get back out there. I usually have garlic too but I just forgot to put that in this year.
      When do you plant your potatoes? I love growing them so they will be a must. I’m thinking of trying some different varieties this year too. Any recommendations.
      I also now help with the kitchen garden program at the girls school (which is a great source of parsley when I’ve used mine up) and look after the chickens on school holidays and some weekends. I was thinking about getting a couple of chooks of our own but have decided with a cat and a dog it might not work.
      Thanks again for the comment. I’ll try to keep up with the blog a bit more this year.
      Barbara

      • Glenn Finlay says:

        Hi Barbara,
        Thanks for the reply. We love growing potatoes and especially like new potatoes steamed with salt and lots of butter!! We always grow Dutch cream, Royal Blue and Nicola (we have to grow Nicola as my wife’s name is Nicola!), This year we are also putting in a few King Edwards. Last year we had a variety called “Up to Date” which is a Scottish heritage variety that was good but they were sold out when I ordered my spuds online this year so King Edward it is. As to timing for planting we usually wait till the end of August but I was reading Peter Cundal’s column in the weekly times and he suggested to plant some early and risk the frost. His argument is that the “wildlings” from missed tubers the previous year always grow pretty well unless there is a particularly bad frost. So I am going to plant about a third soon and the rest later in August. This gives a longer harvesting of new potatoes. Family Christmas is at ours this year so hopefully have plenty of home grown veg including potatoes, fingers crossed.
        We have chooks, who despite several stern discussions on the need to produce eggs as reward for feed, are not producing much. Five chooks for 1 or 2 eggs a day but hopefully the team will lift their game with the weather as it warms up. Despite the lack of eggs there is something very comforting about watching chooks scratch about clucking gently to each other. Ours are very quiet and can be mosly picked up easily but crikey do they make a mess of your back yard!
        Kitchen gardens in schools are fantastic. I love the term “kitchen garden” as it’ conveys so much more than just vege garden. I reckon thats energy well spent helping out there.
        All the best Barbara,
        regards,
        Glenn

Leave a Reply

