One Step Closer

Yet again it’s been a quiet six months on the blog – though with a few odd days where my stats went through the roof (relatively speaking consider this little blog is no high traffic site) for no apparent reason. I’ve neglected this blog and a lot of other things I enjoy while concentrating on the first semester of a Master of Information Management course. Yet another piece of paper to add to the growing collection – I’ll have enough to wallpaper a room pretty soon. I’m desperately hoping this one pays off and I’ll find a job that gives me the same satisfaction I used to get from teaching, but without the aspects that saw me turn my back on that particular career.

I have loved the course, my brain has been expanded in ways I didn’t expect. I can now code, catalogue according to RDA, Dewey and Library of Congress, search the deep web, explain the term web 2.0, create a LibGuide, write a rapid evidence review and speak conversational MARC – most of which will make no sense but makes me feel pretty proud of myself. I started the course with the goal of kick-starting a library career, but info management is so much more than that and I feel like there are lots of directions this course could take me in. I just hope starting a new career at nearly forty is less frightening than it feels right now. Ironically, this time twenty years ago I was in a very similar position – preparing for my final high school exams and figuring out what direction my life would then take.

This morning I finished the last assignment for this semester – which technically gives me a Graduate Certificate in Information Management – and now I am one step closer to the next stage in my life. That’s certainly a better feeling than 12 months ago when my life as I knew it felt like it had imploded in part and I had no idea what to do next. While I may not have that crystal ball telling me things will be fine in the end, I am actually excited about what I’m doing and where it might lead. That feels really good.

In the meantime, I have about four months until the next semester starts and lots of free time on my hands. Perhaps this could be the Summer of Barbara! Here’s the agenda so far:

  1. Get back to the garden! – I have made a start, cleared out two and a bit garden beds. I’ve planted lettuces, strawberry runners, parsley, and (inspired by Glen) I ordered and planted three types of potatoes which have all come up and look good so far. Sadly, I can’t for the life of me find where I put the details on the types I planted – I know one was King Edward) – but I’m sure they’ll all taste delicious. There’s plenty more weeding to do and I’ll be planting as I go. I’ll keep you updated on my progress.
  2. Read, read, read! – so many good books have been piling up on my bedside table. The stack is precariously high right now and may just take me out in my sleep if I can’t get through some of them soon.
  3. Cook – it’s been pretty boring in the kitchen for the last six months. But I’m starting to feel the cooking bug scratching its way to the surface again.
  4. Painting – no, not the artistic type, I have absolutely no talent for that. But I am hoping I can spruce up my very dark lounge room with a new coat of white paint. This will include finally painting the 1970s style dark wood paneling on the back wall. I’ll post before and after photos for your approval.
  5. Start another blog – seems silly considering I haven’t had great success in recent years in keeping up with this one but I would like to track my journey out of teaching and into a library (or related) job. This will record the things I’ve learned and other interesting library-related topics. I’ll share it here too if I think it’s interesting. The first thing I need to do though is to come up with a catchy name. I need some help with this, so hit me up with some suggestions in the comments… please!

I’m sure there will be other things that come up that will spark my interest and keep me busy. Ah, it’s nice to sit here, looking at the glorious stretch of time ahead of me and feel motivated and inspired again. That’s a pretty special at any stage in life and I intend to make the most of it.

See you again soon (I promise!)

Barbara.

This entry was posted in Blogs, Books, cooking, Gardening, General, Goals, Lifestyle, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Step Closer

  1. fergie51 says:

    Go you! Great to have a turn in the path every now and again. I am now 60 andstarting a new business after redirecting (refuse to say retire) from a job I hated. Finally doing what I love on my terms. Who knows where thing will lead you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

