Tuesday’s Top Five – Books I’d love to read….. one day

As I slowly make my way through A Suitable Boy I’ve realised it could be quite a long time before my next book review.  I love writing posts about books so I’ve decided this week my Tuesday’s Top Five is going to take the place of my usual book review post for this month at least.  I, like many others I suspect, have become quite addicted to the various must-read book lists.  There are loads around, the Librarians Top 100, Angus and Robertson’s Top 100, Boxall’s 1001 Books to Read Before You Die and so on.  I usually fare reasonably well when I compare the lists to my own reading checklist, but they always remind me of the books I’d love to read given the time.  Mostly these books are big, both in size and ideas, not a quick Summer read or an easy before-bed wind down novel.  While there are probably many, many more books I could put on this list, I have narrowed my goals down to just five books I’d love to read when I have a little more time and a little more sleep (at the moment I can barely keep my eyes open for a few pages before succumbing to slumber), but hopefully I’ll be able to tackle at least one of these someday soon.

1. Anna Karenina – Tolstoy
I’m drawn to this Tolstoy classic for a number of reasons.  Firstly, Russia and Russian history intrigues me, probably a good thing given that I used to teach the Russian Revolution to my VCE students.  Secondly, this novel was constantly referenced in The Elegance of the Hedgehog, which as you know, I adored.  And finally, I’ve never read any Tolstoy and I’d like to be able to check him off my list of authors I really should read (perhaps there’s a another top five list in that one).

2. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
Here’s another author on that list potentially.  I actually own this book, a gift from a good friend a couple of years ago.  I guess I’m known to enjoy some of the tougher reads (my sister often tells me to read certain books that she hasn’t enjoyed but thinks I will.  She’s usually right, The Inheritance of Loss is a good example).  I’ve picked up Midnight’s Children at least twice, have made a start and then something happens that means I put it down for too long and can’t pick up the story line again.  It’s definitely a book that needs a decent amount of dedicated read-time.

3. Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
Now there really is no excuse why I haven’t already picked up this one.  It’s so short that it has been classified as a novella rather than a novel.  On top of that, I actually studied African colonial history at university – how did I not get around to reading Conrad’s classic on the subject.  Perhaps this would be a good one to start with, and a quick way of getting another book down on my 15 books for the year challenge.

4. Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger
The last two places on my list I struggled to decide on, there were so many I considered.  I decided on one of the ‘Great American Novels’ so to speak.  I’ve read quite a few English classics, but only a few from great American writers, of which there are many.  A few years ago I read John Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath and remembered why I loved American literature – The Great Gatsby, To Kill a Mockingbird, Huck Finn, the list goes on.  Of course I don’t always agree with what is considered great, Cormack MCCarthy’s Blood Meridian for instance was so awful I couldn’t finish it.  But other than these ones I haven’t made much of a dent in the list of America’s finest.

5.  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
The last spot I’ve dedicated to a somewhat lighter read, a comedy and one my sister has been telling me to read or looking at me incredulously when I mention that I still haven’t gotten to this one.  Mind you there are some classics that she hasn’t read that make me hang my head in shame, well maybe that’s a little dramatic, but I’m sure you know what I mean.

I’d love to know what’s on your top five must-read list.  Which of the great authors do you want to tick of?

As for my epic read, I’m now half way through A Suitable Boy (yes, only half way, but in any other circumstance that would be a least a whole novel finished).  So far it’s been a lovely wander through Indian society in the early days of independence with the feisty Lata and her extended family, but I’m starting to wane with my enthusiasm.  I’m contemplating putting it down briefly to read something else and then coming back to finish the second half.  But, will I be able to pick it up again?  I would be heartbroken having gotten this far to have to start again, again.

Over at Liz’s she’s done quite a scientific evaluation of her top five vegies for the summer – including a formula!  Much more professional than my previous thrown together MVP of the garden list.

This entry was posted in Books, Tuesday's Top Five and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tuesday’s Top Five – Books I’d love to read….. one day

  1. bitchpig says:

    Hello! I LOVED A Suitable Boy and was starved for more Vikram Seth. I went on to read his An Equal Music which really has to be one of the saddest books I have ever read, and The Golden Gate which is poetry. My fave book of all time, well, one of them, is Anna Karenina and I too have failed to read Midnight’s Children on a number of occasions. A good friend who is an avid reader adores Heart of Darkness which also, I have never been able to get into. Catcher in the Rye I have enjoyed over and over. Do you like Isabelle Allende, and Gabiriel Garcia Marquez? I love magical realism, although my current favourite writer is Siri Hustvedt, do you know her? x

    • Barbara Good says:

      Hi, thanks for stopping by my blog. I think you’ve inspired me to stick with A Suitable Boy for a while longer at least. Are Seth’s other books all so long? Not sure I could tackle another mammoth, but if they’re a bit shorter I’ll definitely check them out.

      You’re making me even more keen to read Anna Karenina and I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who has struggled with Midnight’s Children.

      I love Isabelle Allende though haven’t read any for a while now. Daughter of Fortune is my favourite. I haven’t read any Gabiriel Garcia Marquez, but I do have Love in the time of Cholera on my bedside table at the moment, waiting it’s turn patiently. I haven’t heard of Siri Hustvedt.

      • Liz says:

        No Vikram Seth books are not all long – there is one called Beastly Tales which you could read in an afternoon – its fairy tales basically. An Equal Music is lovely and more normal book length. He also wrote a book which is a very long poem but I haven’t read that. I think his thing is to write one of everything so to speak. Like bitchpig I explored his other works after reading A Suitable Boy.

  2. Oooh, I’ve read numbers 2, 3 and 5, and quite liked all of them. 2 and 3 were tough reads, but quite interesting in their own ways, and 5 is one of my favourite books of all time! 😀
    Good luck with getting around to reading them – it is definitely worth it!

  3. Liz says:

    I have read 4 of your top 5, remarkably really given I actually don’t read that much….well recently I haven’t read much anyway. Midnights Children I loved, but then I am a huge fan of Indian literature in English, I studied International politics (I wrote my honours thesis on India) and I enjoy magic realism as a literary style so…. It is great but harder going than A Suitable Boy and there is a certain amount of overlap of subject matter so I wouldn’t choose it next…..
    A heart of darkness I hated – depressing, wanky and way too masculine for my tastes. A Catcher in the Rye I read for VCE, I loved it despite reading it a good 20 times as exam prep – lots of snowflake symbolism from memory. A hitchhikers guide to the galaxy I love and have read it lots and lots of times – fun, memorable with great one liners – very deadpan and enjoyable – I reckon you could get a good way through it in a nap time or two. You’ll know by the end of the first page if its going to be your sort of humour. If you do put down A Suitable Boy and want to go back to it quickly then this would be a great inbetween read. Have you seen the film/TV show or listened to the radio version?
    Sorry A Suitable Boy is so long – I read it at uni, not for uni but as study avoidance – that probably ensured i got through it in no time…..

    • Barbara Good says:

      So well read on top of everything else Liz. For some reason I have stumbled upon lots of novels by Indian author’s or set in India over the last probably ten years. I really love the setting, now I just have to get myself there. Mr Good worked in India a few years ago, but I couldn’t get time off work to join him which was disappointing. He loved it, but didn’t get to see as much of the country as he hoped.

      I fear I may find Heart of Darkness to loaded with testosterone from what you’ve said – I generally don’t enjoy really masculine writing. I’ll give it a go and see.

      I always hear people saying how much they hated their VCE novels because they had to read them too many times and actually analyse them – I love that! My fav Year 12 novel was The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – my first introduction to her and since them I’ve read just about all her novels.

      Hitchhiker’s Guide sounds like my kind of comedy, I’m really looking forward to that one now. I haven’t seen the film/series or heard the radio version.

      Don’t apologise for the length of A Suitable Boy! I am very much enjoying it, but I think I should have read it in my long periods of procrastination at Uni too. I read Nelson Mandela’s Long Walk to Freedom in two days trying to avoid an International Politics essay (I did Int Pol too for a while, but domestic politics/policy studies was more my scene. I did my honours in Anthropology, but examining the impact of of the 1999 State election in the East Gippsland which was won by an Independent candidate who ended up with the balance of power along with two other independents – sound familiar?).

      Wow I got side-tracked there didn’t I!

      • Liz says:

        Very familiar – interesting topic. I went to uni only interested in Australian politics, then deffered went travelling and ended up studying about nothing but the Middle East and India. I love that you think I’m well read especially as I haven’t actually read a book for a good year or so (gardening guides and cookbooks aside). I think its more that the books you have talked about so far happen to co-incide with a period in my life when I did read a lot. Happy co-incidence that.

  4. Pingback: Value Space Rating – Summer’s Top 5 | Suburban Tomato

  5. Layla says:

    I’ve read 2 and 4 which were pretty good… couldn’t get through 5 :p Been meaning to read Anna Karenina but haven’t gotten around to it 🙂

    I recently listed my Top 5 right here, if you want to take a look 🙂

    http://lalammar.net/2012/03/01/a-room-without-books-is-like-a-body-without-a-soul-cicero/

  6. Pingback: Recent Read – Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy | The New Good Life

Leave a comment